Thread: MBP lack of SD card slot... is it really a big deal to pro photographers?

MBP lack of SD card slot... is it really a big deal to pro photographers?

SD cards are more common and more practical for amateur to pro level. CF is mostly for higher end applications. Even 4K does not need the speed of CF. Sub $2000 camera systems don’t often use CF.
    I am no pro photographer of any kind, but I have a multi card adapter for my desktop. It is USB 3.0. I would need an cable adapter just to use it or buy a hub. USB-C to USB-A is not part of the USB-C specification which is where a lot of the problems lie if it isn’t tested properly.
    Also, having it built in makes it easier to plug and play instead of fishing for a dongle and adapter for the same functionality. SD is an industry standard. People who want as few extra cables as possible will prefer it and for a portable system, that usually is a benefit.

I can not speak as a pro photographer but as an architect there is no hardware and no software that will perfectly meet my needs. But having to buy a few new cables or a few dongles is small change in the greater scheme of things. It’s certainly not going to stop me from getting the machine that works best for all my other needs. And I certainly wouldn’t throw a fit and switch platforms out of spite (the cost of professional software being not insignificant)
    I suspect there is a serious lack of perspective at play here and I’d like to hear more from people who actually make a full time living with photography. The few professionals I’ve seen post on this subject seem to be pretty sanguine about the matter. The people who are getting so upset about Apples "Pro" machines not actually being "pro" are not actually professionals themselves.

On the subject of pro users, I suspect business will pay for itself. If it is needed to forward the needs of the business then it will be paid for if the price is right.